Liquor and drug laws

It's Time to End the State Monopoly on Liquor Sales

I don't even drink, but I know the State's monopoly on liquor sales is a sin against the free market. 


I'd like to end it. 


- If elected I will introduce the following policies as bills with the Legislature.

- If that fails -- which it probably will -- I will push a ballot initiative and let free Utahn's decide for themselves

 

Liquor Sales

- By January 1, 2022, end the State Liquor Store system completely, including the shut down of all current State Liquor Stores

- Increase annual liquor license issuance by 100%

- Allow beer, wine, liquor, and other spirits to be sold to consumers in any grocery store, gas station, or independent liquor store

- Allow beer, wine, liquor, and other spirits to be sold to bars and restaurants through normal distribution, and not the State of Utah

- All taxes from the sale of alcohol to be used for substance abuse prevention and treatment programs


Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) Law

 - Definition: Caught driving with blood alcohol level between 0.06000 and 0.7999

-  Any conviction   $2,500 fine paid to County  Not a criminal charge 


DUI Laws

- Raise the legal limit for DUI back to 0.08000

- Include driving while on other illegal drugs as a DUI

- In any arrest, the vehicle will be towed to the suspect’s home, not impounded. Suspect pays towing fee. If acquitted, the State must refund the towing fee.

- Fines may be paid in cash, or with community service at $10/hr credit

- Restitution to any victim must be paid in cash


Penalties for DUI Convictions Not Involving a Collision


1st Conviction

- 12-mo probation

- $5,000 fine

2nd Conviction

- 12-mo driver license suspension

- $7,500 fine

- 2 weekend days in County Jail

3rd Conviction

- Additional 36-mo driver license suspension

- $10,000 fine

- 30 weekend days in County Jail


Penalties for DUI Convictions Involving a Collision with Another Vehicle


1st Conviction

- 12-mo driver license suspension

- 150% financial restitution paid to victim

- $10,000 fine

- 10 weekend days in County Jail

2nd Conviction

- Additional 10-year driver license suspension

- 150% financial restitution paid to victim

- $10,000 fine

- 30 mandatory weekend days in County Jail

3rd Conviction

- Lifetime driver license suspension

- 150% financial restitution paid to victim

- 30 days in County Jail, followed by 30 mandatory days in substance abuse program


Additional Laws

- No one moving to the State of Utah who has 3 or more DUI convictions will be permitted to obtain a Utah driver license




It's Time to Decriminalize Marijuana Use

As long as it remains a federal offense, I believe the sale of marijuana should continue to be prohibited, and punished with fines and/or jail time.


I believe the use of marijuana should become a non-criminal issue.


If you are caught using marijuana:

- 1st offense                     $250 fine

- 2nd offense                   $500 fine

- 3rd offense and on       $1,000 fine


All fines will be used to fund State substance abuse prevention and recovery programs.


As to not create a vicious cycle of poverty, fines may be paid in monthly installments of as little as $50.